# 2017 AAKP Annual Awards

The following awards are presented during the AAKP National Patient Meeting. Nominations for these awards (excluding the *President's Award*, determined by the AAKP President) are solicited from AAKP Board members, volunteers, the general membership and kidney community. The criteria for these awards are as follows:

### Samuel J. Orenstein Award

Presented to an individual who consistently renders extraordinary service toward the achievement of AAKP's goals and objectives.

### Peter Lundin, MD Award

Presented to a renal physician who has made contributions to the care, welfare and well-being of patients over a lifetime of devoted service.

#### **Dominick Gentile, MD Memorial Award**

Presented to an ESRD Network that has developed and maintained a program which has significantly benefited patients.

### Kidney Patient Support Group of the Year

Presented to a kidney patient support group that has been active within their local community. This support group should have hosted community educational programs and activities to support its local patients and raise awareness of kidney disease.

#### President's Award

Presented to an individual who made a long-term commitment toward making AAKP a better organization. **To be determined by the AAKP President.** 

#### National Social Media Education and Advocacy Award

Presented to an **individual** and **organization** each who have demonstrated a national level of excellence through social media to either educate or advocate on behalf of kidney patients and their loved ones in the areas of disease awareness, policy advocacy or the creation of online communities. This highly competitive award will recognize excellence on a variety of social media platforms and will include video, bloggers and social media content and sites that have grown large audiences through creative and effective use of social media.

#### National Patient Engagement and Advocacy Award

Presented to an **individual**, **organization** and **public servant** each who are recognized leaders in the field of kidney patient education and advocacy and whose body of professional work and commitment to advance the interests of kidney patients through policy, education or activism.

#### National Journalism Award:

Presented to a reporter or journalist whose work in either print, online, television or web arena(s) has brought the needs and interests of the kidney patient community to the national forefront through journalistic excellence. Presented either for a single compelling story with local, regional or national significance, or body of work, which over time has informed Americans of the critical needs and concerns of the kidney patient community.

Please mail, fax or email completed a nomination form and any attachments **by Monday, July 3, 2017** to the address below. Nominations must be received by AAKP deadline to be considered.

Fax: (813) 636-8122

Email: dclynes@aakp.org

American Association of Kidney Patients Attn: AAKP Annual Awards 14440 Bruce B. Downs Blvd, Tampa, FL 33613

:	E-mail:	
	E-mail:	
uel J. Orenstein Award	· ·	
Description of Service to AAKP:		

e:	E-mail:	
	E-mail:	
er Lundin, MD Awar	·d	
Professional Contributions:		



one:	E-mail:	_
ominick Gentile, MD Me	morial Award	
Nomination:		
Reason for Nomination:		



one:	E-mail:	
dney Patient Supp	ort Group of the Year	
Reason for Nomination:		



ne:	E-mail:	
tional Social Media E	ducation and Advocacy At	ward:
Nomination:		
Reason for Nomination:		



:	E-mail:	
ional Patient Engagen	ent and Advocacy Award:	
Nomination:		
Reason for Nomination:		

Submitted by:		
Phone:	E-mail:	
National Journalism Award:  Nomination:		
Reason for Nomination:		