Jenny Kitsen Safety Award

[vc_row][vc_column][vc_column_text]The Jenny Kitsen Patient Safety Award funds an annual lecture or presentation that will advance patient safety by exploring innovation in health systems management. The award was created in 2014 by the former Network of New England whose Board of Directors established an endowment to continue the patient safety work of the non-profit organization led by Jenny Kitsen.

Among the organizations eligible to apply for the Jenny Kitsen Patient Safety Award are 501(c)(3) and 501(c)(6) organizations , public and government agencies, and many other organizations and institutions.

We are currently accepting grant applications – apply by July 31, 2018[/vc_column_text][vc_btn title=”Grant Application – Click here!” color=”green” size=”lg” link=”||target:%20_blank|”][/vc_column][/vc_row][vc_row][vc_column][vc_column_text]2018 Award Winners

National Kidney Foundation

As part of the 2018 Spring Clinicals, the NKF hosted the educational session, “Do no harm! – Avoiding Medication Errors in Patients with Chronic Kidney Disease.” The session described the most common medication errors and their associated negative outcomes in patients with CKD to highlight the need for more aggressive interventions to address these preventable errors. The medication reconciliation, medication reviews and medication therapy management will be defined with an emphasis on the potential impact these interventions have on patient and economic outcomes. The medication reconciliation measure for dialysis patients developed by the Kidney Care Quality Alliance Measure Feasibility and Testing Workgroup will be highlighted along with efforts by CMS to develop a quality measure(s) related to medication reconciliation and management dialysis clinicals will have to achieve to meet their quality goals. Session presenters included: Jeffery Fink, MD, MS (University of Maryland); Marisa Battistella, PharmD (University of Toronto); and Amy Pai, PharmD, BCPS, FASN, FCCP, FNKF (University of Michigan).


National Renal Administrators Association

As part of its 2017 Annual Conference, NRAA hosted the educational session, “Creating and Maintaining a Culture of Safety.” This session focused on the importance for clinic leaders to manage processes and lead facility employees to ensure an environment that promotes and achieves patient safety, best practices and optimal patient outcomes. Session presenter, Mary Kay Hamilton, RN, MHI, has more than 20 years’ experience in the dialysis field, both nationally and internationally.


The 2018 Award recipients join an elite group who are dedicated to promoting safety throughout the kidney community:

2017 Award Winners

  • A.T. Still University of Oral Health, Dr. Maureen Munnelly Perry – Oral Health Safety Protocols
  • All Kidney Patients Support Group (AKPSG) – Patient Safety and Empowerment


2016 Award Winners

  • National Renal Administrators Association
  • Renal Physicians Association


2015 Award Winners

  • American Nephrology Nurses Association
  • Forum of ESRD Networks