AAKP Patient Safety Award

AAKP Patient Safety award

The AAKP Patient Safety Award recognizes specific and impactful leadership and activities that exemplify the Association’s strategic goal of advancing patient safety through innovations and specific measures within health systems, both nationally and globally, that inspire actions to improve overall patient safety. The award was created in 2014 by the former Network of New England whose Board of Directors established an endowment to continue the patient safety work of the non-profit organization led by Jenny Kitsen. 

Among the organizations eligible to apply for the Jenny Kitsen Patient Safety Award are 501(c)(3) and 501(c)(6) organizations , public and government agencies, and many other organizations and institutions. 

Past award winners

2023 Award Winners

Katina Lang-Lindsey, PhD, MSW (Alabama A&M University)

Kidneys Quest Foundation

Terrance Jay O'Neil, MD, FACP, FASN, COLUSAfMC (Ret), President, HD Clean LLC

Mariana Murea, MD (Wake Forest University)

National Kidney Foundation

Shahid Muhammad, PhD (Coventry University, UK)

2022 Award Winners

Dr. Alan Kliger, Chair, Nephrologists Transforming Dialysis Safety (NTDS), American Society of Nephrology (ASN) (National)

The Renal Patients Support Group (RPSG) – United Kingdom (International)


Kidney Quest Foundation


Satellite Healthcare

Katina Lang-Lindsey, PhD, LMSW, Assistant Professor; Alabama A&M University


Making Dialysis Safer for Patients Coalition


National Kidney Foundation

National Renal Administrators Association

2017 Award Winners

A.T. Still University of Oral Health, Dr. Maureen Munnelly Perry – Oral Health Safety Protocols

All Kidney Patients Support Group (AKPSG) – Patient Safety and Empowerment

2016 Award Winners

National Renal Administrators Association

Renal Physicians Association

2015 Award Winners

American Nephrology Nurses Association

Forum of ESRD Networks