Medal of Excellence

Medal of Excellence Recipients

The American Association of Kidney Patients’ (AAKP) Medal of Excellence is the highest honor for kidney healthcare professionals and is designed to elevate national and international figures who have been in the forefront of advancements in kidney care and patient empowerment. The award recognizes professionals who are committed to improving and extending the lives of all  kidney patients through advocacy, research, technology and quality-driven  treatments that protect patient dignity and fully align with patient aspirations. This prestigious award program recognizes a variety of professionals within the health care team including: nephrologists, transplant surgeons, transplant professionals, nurses, social workers, dietitians and dialysis technicians.

2019 Press Release

AAKP Announces 2019 Award Recipients

Stephen Z. Fadem, MD, FACP, FASN, Kidney Associates LLC (Houston, TX)

Sherilyn Gordon, MD, FACS, Methodist Hospital (Houston, TX)
presented posthumous

Ronald Gill, PhD, Colorado Center for Transplantation Care (Aurora, CO)

Barbara Casazza, FNP, The Rogosin Institute (Woodside, NY)

Renee Bova-Collis, MSW, LCSW, Quality Insights Mid-Atlantic Renal Coalition (Richmond, VA)

Stacey Phillips, RD, Mercy Health (Grand Rapids, MI)

Dwelyn Williams, CCHT, DaVita Kidney Care (Orlando, FL)

Medal of Excellence Award Presentations

AAKP is pleased to honor the 2019 recipients at events hosted throughout the year in front of a community of their peers.

American Society of Transplant Surgeons Winter Symposium January 10-12 in Miami, FL – recognition of Dr. Sherilyn Gordon, transplant surgeon category (posthumously)

National Association of Nephrology Technicians Dialysis Tech ConneXion Annual Conference March 19-22 in Las Vegas, NV at the Tropicana – recognition of Dwelyn Williams, dialysis technician category

Renal Physicians Association’s Annual MeetingMedal of Excellence Award Dinner March 28-30 in Chicago, IL at the Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile. The Award Dinner is hosted on Friday, March 29 from 6:30 p.m. – 8:30 p.m. Tickets are available for $125/person. Click here to purchase ticket(s) online or contact AAKP at (800) 749-2257 to purchase by phone. The Award Dinner will recognize awardees in the physician, nurse, social worker and dietitian categories.

American Society of Transplantation Town Hall June 3 Honoring Ronald Gill, PhD. 

AAKP Thanks Its 2019 Medal of Excellence Sponsors

Medal of Excellence Sponsorship 

Want to become a sponsor of the Medal of Excellence? Sponsors receive a variety of benefits and will be recognized for their support throughout the entire year at all Medal of Excellence Program events which will be hosted in conjunction with a number of health care professional meetings and events. For questions about sponsorship, please contact Erin Kahle, director of Stakeholder Operations, Center for Patient Engagement & Advocacy (P) 813-400-2393 (F) 813-636-8122 (E)

Download Sponsorship Form

Past Award Recipients
Click the button below for a list of past award winners

Past Award Winners