Medal of Excellence


Medal of Excellence Recipients

The American Association of Kidney Patients’ (AAKP) Medal of Excellence is the highest honor for kidney healthcare professionals and is designed to elevate national and international figures who have been in the forefront of advancements in kidney care and patient empowerment. The award recognizes professionals who are committed to improving and extending the lives of all  kidney patients through advocacy, research, technology and quality-driven  treatments that protect patient dignity and fully align with patient aspirations. This prestigious award program recognizes a variety of professionals within the health care team including: nephrologists, transplant surgeons, transplant professionals, nurses, social workers, dietitians and dialysis technicians.

Medal of Excellence Award Presentations

AAKP was pleased to honor the 2019 recipients at events hosted throughout the year in front of a community of their peers.

Enjoy these photos!

2019 Award Recipients

Ronald Gill

Physician Category

Stephen Z. Fadem, MD, FACP, FASN, Kidney Associates LLC (Houston, TX)

Transplant Surgeon Category

Sherilyn Gordon, MD, FACS, Methodist Hospital (Houston, TX) – presented posthumous

Transplant Professional Category

Ronald Gill, PhD, Colorado Center for Transplantation Care

(Aurora, CO)

Nursing Category

Barbara Casazza, FNP, The Rogosin Institute (Woodside, NY)



Social Work Category

Renee Bova-Collis, MSW, LCSW, Quality Insights Mid-Atlantic Renal Coalition (Richmond, VA)


Dietetic Category

Stacey Phillips, RD, Mercy Health (Grand Rapids, MI)


Dialysis Technician Category

Dwelyn Williams, CCHT

Thank you to our 2019 Sponsors:

Silver Sponsor



Bronze Sponsors

Amgen, Inc.

OPKO Renal

Supporting Sponsor

American Society of Nephrology

Medal of Excellence Sponsorship 

Want to become a sponsor of the Medal of Excellence? Sponsors receive a variety of benefits and will be recognized for their support throughout the entire year at all Medal of Excellence Program events which will be hosted in conjunction with a number of health care professional meetings and events. For questions about sponsorship, please contact Erin Kahle, director of Stakeholder Operations, Center for Patient Engagement & Advocacy (P) 813-400-2393 (F) 813-636-8122 (E)

Past Award Recipients

Click the button below for a list of past award winners.