No slides found, please add some slides

AAKP Honors Medal of Excellence Award Winners During Kidney Week


Tampa, Fla.; October 7, 2013 – The American Association of Kidney Patients (AAKP) will honor the 2013 AAKP Medal of Excellence Award Winners at Kidney Week hosted by the American Society of Nephrology.   The AAKP Medal of Excellence Award Program recognizes renal physicians who have shown extraordinary dedication to the field of nephrology, including patient care and patient education.

The 2013 Medal of Excellence Award winners are William Bennett, MD and J. Michael Lazarus.  Both men have shown leadership in research and scientific pursuit of providing kidney patients a better quality of life, as well as passion in helping patients and families deal with the physical, emotional and social impact of kidney disease.  As part of Kidney Week, both winners will give special presentations on the history of dialysis and transplantation; innovations in the renal field; along with a discussion on patient-centered care and the importance of patient advocacy. Drs. Bennett and Lazarus will share some of their personal experiences of what patients have taught them and how those lessons have influenced their careers.

ASN’s Kidney Week takes place November 5- 10 in Atlanta, Ga. The meeting features advances in treatment, research and technology in the fight against kidney disease. More than 13,000 kidney health care professionals are expected to attend.

Kidney Week attendees are invited to the special presentation being given by the honorees taking place Friday, November 8, 2013 from 6:45 p.m. – 8:30 p.m. at the Hyatt Regency Atlanta in Atlanta, Ga. The special presentation will be followed by a reception of beverages and hor devours; allowing attendees to enjoy the evening with the award recipients and fellow colleagues. Tickets to the special presentation and reception are $50 each. To purchase a ticket to the event visitwww.aakp.org/community/programs-events/medal-of-excellence-award-dinner.html or call 1-800-749-2257, Option 7, ext. 5.

For more information on the Medal of Excellence program, please contact Diana Clynes atdclynes@aakp.org.


2013 AAKP Medal of Excellence Award Sponsors

Platinum Sponsors


Fresenius Medical Care – NA

Silver Sponsors


American Renal Associates, LLC

Dialysis Clinic, Inc.

Patron Sponsors

American Society of Nephrology


Bronze Sponsor

Astellas Pharma US, Inc.

Supporting Sponsors

Alexion Pharmaceuticals



About the 2013 Medal of Excellence Award Recipients

William Bennett, MD, is a nephrologist from Portland, OR. Dr. Bennett served as the Medical Director of Legacy Transplant Services. He is an expert in kidney transplantation and was an active clinician, researcher and educator at the Legacy Good Samaritan Hospital. He is a Professor Emeritus of Medicine (Retired) at Oregon Health & Science University. Dr. Bennett helped launch the American Journal of Kidney Disease (a National Kidney Foundation journal) and was the first Editor of the Clinical Journal of the American Society of Nephrology (an American Society of Nephrology journal). He has been an active member of the board of directors of the Polycystic Kidney Foundation. Dr. Bennett belongs to 28 professional societies and has been the principal investigator in about 100 different research project grants. He has had 407 medical journal publications, and in addition has written chapters or entire texts in 140 different text publications.

J. Michael Lazarus, MD, is Senior Executive Vice President of Clinical Quality at Fresenius Medical Care North American (FMCNA). Dr. Lazarus has been affiliated with FMCNA for 25 years as a Medical Director and consultant. Dr. Lazarus is also Vice Chairman of the Board of Directors of Renaissance Health Care, Inc. and is on the Board of Directors of Optimal Health Care, Inc. He completed his nephrology training at Harvard Medical School and the Peter Bent Brigham Hospital. Prior to assuming his present position, Dr. Lazarus was Director of Clinical Services in the Nephrology Division and Director of the dialysis unit at the Brigham and Women’s Hospital and continues to hold the position of Associate Professor of Medicine at Harvard Medical School.


For more information about the American Association of Kidney Patients visit www.aakp.org or call 1-800-749-2257.