No slides found, please add some slides

Honoring Kidney Community Excellence


Honoring Kidney Community Excellence

The AAKP Calls for Nominations for its Medal of Excellence Awards

Tampa, FL – The American Association of Kidney Patients (AAKP) is accepting nominations for the 2016 Medal of Excellence Award. The deadline for entries is November 2nd.

The AAKP Medal of Excellence Program recognizes renal healthcare professionals who demonstrated the skills that reflect AAKP’s mission of providing patients quality care in order for them to lead a more productive life. AAKP originally designed the award to honor physicians, but in 2014 AAKP expanded the award categories to include nurses, social workers, dietitians and dialysis technicians. Candidates for the award are nominated by colleagues and patients in their home institutions or through professional affiliations. Candidates may also self-nominate.

“The AAKP Medal of Excellence Award recognizes the extraordinary and unparalleled talents of individuals whose impact and genius have left an indelible mark on the kidney community,” stated AAKP Executive Director Gary Green. “Past winners include Dr. Christopher Blagg, Dr. George Schreiner, and Dr. William Kolff. When I look at the outstanding slate of honorees, I am struck by the powerful common theme – they all pushed the limits of their gifts as physicians to make long lasting – life saving impacts on the lives of kidney patients and their families.”

Criteria for nominations should focus on ways in which an individual made an impact or lasting contribution, served as a positive role model and created an awareness and support for health education in the community.

Nominations must be submitted to AAKP by November 2, 2015. A selection committee is comprised of highly renowned healthcare professionals in the renal community, members of the AAKP Medical Advisory Board and past Medal of Excellence recipients. .

Award recipients will be recognized throughout the 2016 year during a series of events and patient programs including:

  • AAKP event hosted in conjunction with professional meetings including the Renal Physicians Association and the American Society of Nephrology
  • Biographical articles on career achievements featured in aakpRENALIFE magazine
  • Speaking opportunities during an AAKP Patient Education Program.

Visit www.aakp.org/ to download the AAKP Medal of Excellence Award Nomination form.

Complete applications must be received by November 2, 2025, to this address:

  • American Association of Kidney Patients
    Medal of Excellence Program
    2701 N. Rocky Point Drive, Suite 150
    Tampa, FL 33607
  • Program Contact for AAKP:
    Diana Clynes, Dir. of Programs & Services
    P 813-400-2391   F 813-636-8122

AAKP is a voluntary non-profit organization founded by kidney patients, which for 45 years, has been dedicated to improving the quality of life of kidney patients through education, advocacy and the fostering of patient communities. The programs offered by AAKP inform and inspire patients and their families to better understand their condition, adjust more readily to their circumstances, and assume more normal, productive lives in their communities.